Winter Break Ideas

I would like to brainstorm some activities/books/articles/things to do for the 4-5 weeks I have off.  I would really like to accomplish some important things for retrospective purposes.
First, I think it might be fun to read through all of our previous blog posts, and see if we can notice any trends in our writing abilities, topics of discussion, or other things.
Second, I think it might be nice to read a difficult fiction book cover to cover.  I am thinking either Swann’s Way, or Infinite Jest, or something else by David Foster Wallace.
Third, I think it might be nice to watch some really great movies.  I haven’t, but would like to watch One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Rear Window, Cidade de Deus (City of God), Psycho, Memento, Taxi Driver, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Spirited Away, Requiem for a Dream, Little Miss Sunshine, In Bruges, Harold and Maude, and any other recommendations.
I also want to go rock climbing at either the EAC in Evanston, or somewhere else nearby.
It might be enjoyable to get some Christmas decoration for the basement.  String up some lights…Get some cookies…Pita and Hummus…
What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

